City Council Endorsements – 2017


The Coalition for a New Dallas launched more than two years ago with the mission of revitalizing our city’s neighborhoods and restoring its urban core through public policies that improve mobility, generate economic development, and enhance the quality of life for residents.

We strongly believe in replacing highway I-345 with urban boulevards and mixed-income, mixed-used development. We adamantly oppose the construction of a high-speed toll road in the floodplain of the Trinity River. Fair Park must become a year-round economic engine for the surrounding neighborhoods and city at-large. And DART, the longest and least efficient transit system in the country, needs to be overhauled so that ridership and the bus system are prioritized over coverage and sprawling rail lines.

We’ve been fortunate to have effective champions at City Hall and look forward to expanding that support after this year’s city council election cycle. Below are the Coalition’s endorsements for 2017:

District 1: Scott Griggs
District 2: Adam Medrano
District 3: No endorsement
District 4: Carolyn King Arnold / Dwaine Caraway
District 5: Dominique Torres
District 6: No endorsement
District 7: Kevin Felder / Tammy Johnston
District 8: Tennell Atkins
District 9: Mark Clayton
District 10: Adam McGough
District 11: Candy Evans
District 12: Sandy Greyson
District 13: Jennifer Staubach Gates
District 14: Philip Kingston

You can confirm your district and polling place here. Early vote has begun, and you can vote at any polling location through May 2.

Election Day is Saturday, May 6, and we invite you to join us at an Election Kickoff Party on May 3rd at the Rustic. RSVP here, and invite your colleagues, neighbors, and friends.

Here’s to a better, more connected Dallas.



Recent Posts